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Online advertising has enormous potential for self-storage businesses. In 2021, 99% of U.S. consumers searched for local businesses online. [1]

But, think back to your last online search. How far down the search results did you scroll before you found what you needed? The vast majority don't get far. [2] PPC management services help businesses ensure visibility in search results.

PPC is a highly effective type of digital advertising. PPC advertising inserts paid results above and within organic results as sponsored results. Having your company appear first when someone in your area searches for self-storage can be very lucrative. But, search engines limit the number of sponsored results, which makes getting these spots highly competitive. This is where PPC management services come in.

PPC management companies can supply the expertise and tools you need to rank your PPC ads higher than your competitors' ads. This will result in a better ROI on your digital advertising efforts. But achieving optimum results from PPC campaigns can be tricky as it requires striking a careful balance between several factors. Thankfully, PPC management companies provide software to do all the heavy lifting. (A secondary benefit of PPC management services is the time saved from manually monitoring campaigns.)

PPC software are tools that allow businesses to set up, manage, modify, and track the performance of their PPC campaigns. PPC management tools utilize AI to help you make essential choices about your campaign. Two crucial decisions are what keywords to use and how to allocate financial resources effectively.

Enlisting the help of a PPC management company and AI-powered software can ensure you use the best keywords. Once your campaign is active, automated processes can track its performance. If performance drops, the software can suggest adjustments to get it back to optimum performance.

What Is PPC?.

PPC (meaning in business) is an acronym for pay-per-click, but what is pay-per-click?

Pay-per-click is a performance-based advertising model and an integral element of modern marketing. Performance-based advertising models are the most prevalent form of online advertising in the United States. [3] As the PPC full form implies, the number of people who click a pay-per-click campaign determines how much the advertiser pays for it.

Whereas factors such as target audience, budget, and content are relevant to nearly all forms of marketing, there are different types of PPC ads to choose from. Search and display advertising are two key types for self-storage companies to consider when creating PPC strategies that perform well.

Search engine marketing (SEM), sometimes referred to as search advertising, are PPC ads that appear in search engine results pages (SERPs). Display advertising refers to PPC ads that appear in online content such as social media and blogs. Search PPC advertising is well suited to self-storage.

If you're wondering, 'Why use PPC to market self-storage?', here are some of the benefits of PPC for self-storage businesses:

  • PPC is excellent for catering to a local audience: Self-storage businesses can utilize this by creating localized PPC campaigns for each of their facilities.
  • PPC captures high-quality leads: A PPC advertising algorithm will only display your PPC ads to people who are interested in self-storage services in locations where you have facilities.
  • PPC can drive immediate leads: Potential customers who engage with PPC ads can arrive at your online booking in a couple of clicks.
  • PPC can simultaneously appeal to different demographics: Self-storage companies can easily tailor PPC campaigns to specific audiences.
  • PPC delivers measurable results: PPC campaigns create a wealth of data that can inform the direction of current campaigns and future decisions.


As you dive into the world of digital advertising, you're sure to come across the acronyms PPC and CPC together. They are sometimes used interchangeably, but they represent two different things. Here are some commonly asked questions to help clear up any confusion:

1. PPC vs CPC: What’s the difference?

PPC is a type of digital advertising that’s named after the pricing model it uses—pay-per-click. So, what is CPC in digital marketing? CPC stands for cost-per-click. The cost-per-click is the cost of the individual clicks on ads within a PPC advertising campaign.

2. What is CPC’s relevance to self-storage marketing?

CPC is highly relevant to self-storage marketing because it’s an essential metric for determining the success of your PPC campaigns. When you run a PPC campaign, you pay for every click regardless of whether they result in a sale. So, to work out the cost of each click that results in a sale, you need to calculate your CPC.

3. How to calculate CPC?

A basic way to calculate CPC is to divide the total cost of your PPC campaign by the total number of clicks. So if you spent $100 on an ad campaign that got 64 clicks, you’d divide $100 by 64. This gives you a CPC of $1.56.

4. What is a good CPC?

It’s not possible to define a 'good' universal CPC, as even averages vary greatly across industries. A lower CPC is generally better, as it means you’re paying less for each click, including the ones that get you a sale.

5. What is the average CPC?

In 2022, the average CPC of Google Ads in North America was $2.69 for PPC search advertisements and $0.63 for PPC display advertisements. [4]

PPC Marketing Examples.

Paid search ads are ideal for reaching people that need self-storage. But, no matter how talented you are at using PPC to your advantage, the quality of the content of your ads is of utmost importance. Here are three key factors that can affect the quality of your PPC advertisements:
  • Text: Text is limited in both search and display ads. In search ads, you need to effectively use each part of the ad and include the keywords. Most display ads need a clear call to action.
  • Color: Color can signify things such as season, mood, and even feelings to your target audience, so make sure you consider this when developing display ads.
  • Images: Images aren't essential in PPC display ads, but when used, they must be of high quality, especially for PPC social media ads.

To give your paid search ads the best chance of appealing to new customers, you must carefully plan all your ad's elements. Google search text ads have three elements:

  • URL path: The URL path is customizable so you can tailor it to the user's search query. It should also include your website's most important keywords and landing page.
  • Headline: The headline has the most important role as it needs to catch users' attention and encourage them to click. You have 30 characters to do this as it uses a larger, bold font.
  • Description: The description is limited to 90 characters. This is your ad copy—it needs to further convince people to click on your ad and hit all the right keywords.

Here's a PPC marketing example:

  • URL path: stored.com/ny/self_storage/vehicles
  • Headline: NYC Vehicle self-storage - 24h Access
  • Description: The best-located secure vehicle storage in NYC. Units start at $25/month. 24-hour access.

PPC Management Services.

As a self-storage business owner, you probably don't want to spend your resources managing your digital ads.

It is possible to set up digital ads and then just leave them to it—but PPC ads that aren't managed won't generate the best return on your PPC investment in the long run. PPC management services exist to solve this exact problem. 

The best-paid marketing agencies are experts at analyzing and optimizing your ads so that you always achieve your desired results. Here are some things to consider when choosing a paid advertising agency:

  • Industry experience: A marketing agency with experience in the self-storage industry will have far more relevant knowledge and insights to boost your PPC ads than one that doesn't.
  • Ability to help: Look for an agency that has both the knowledge and technology you need to optimize your ad campaigns. This might include campaign set-up, monitoring, reporting, and PPC software.
  • Future capability: It's also important that the services you choose will remain effective as your business grows.
  • Customer support: It's great to partner with industry experts, but if they're not there, if things go wrong, how much help can they really be?
  • Cost: Like any investment, you want to get the best bang for your buck when it comes to PPC management services.
  • Convenience: How easy is it to access, monitor, and update your campaigns? PPC campaigns run 24/7, so you don't want to be limited by inaccessible platforms and clunky user interfaces.

Here at Adverank, we pride ourselves on our expertise and AI-backed PPC ad management platform. You don't have to wait until your campaigns end to see how successful they've been. Our platform tracks all your PPC campaigns in real time and gives you the actionable data you need to maximize your ROI.

We won't overwhelm you with endless unnecessary data either. You'll get fresh updates every day in an easy-to-digest format that you can access on all your devices. If any changes are needed to keep your ads on top, you'll get an email notification and suggestions for improving their performance. To learn more about how Adverank can help you achieve success, contact us today.

[1] http://www.statista.com/statistics/315709/online-local-business-search-frequency-us-canada/
[2] http://www.forbes.com/sites/forbesagencycouncil/2017/10/30/the-value-of-search-results-rankings/?sh=5fd7202044d3
[3] http://www.statista.com/statistics/183816/us-online-advertising-revenue-since-2000/
[4] http://www.statista.com/statistics/1262493/search-advertising-cpc-north-america/